A Taste of the Future

As my spelt bread dough is gently rising in the kitchen (with thanks to Caroline my neighbour for supplying the salt!),  I thought I’d write a quick paragraph about an article I read in the current autumn edition of Spark. Claire Milne (Sustain/ Bristol City Council Sustainable Food Co-ordinator/ Transition Bristol) has written about local food initiatives in the south west, looking at some great projects, listing useful websites and stressing the need to support our local producers and small retailers- explaining how she feels the supermarket model is based on cheap oil.

As expected she mentioned Somerset Food Direct www.sfdirect.co.uk which operates a scheme similar to a veg box but with a much wider shopping list of groceries to choose from, and I was excited to see a website I hadn’t come across before www.sustainweb.org/esdirectory which is a pilot project bringing together Somerset local food producers and retailers, highlighting the need for good distribution systems. Eat Somerset have produced a directory of Somerset food producers- hurray!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.